Malaysia Public Holidays 2019

Discover the complete list of national and state levels public holidays of Malaysia in 2019. There are 14 national holidays and 13 long weekends in Malaysia during 2019. Planning a family vacation? Overview of Malaysia School Days & Holidays 2019 here.
 

 

National Holiday State Holiday Not A Public Holiday
 
Date Day Holiday Comment
Jan 1 Tuesday New Year's Day Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Penang, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor, Federal Territory (Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan)
Jan 14 Monday Yang di-Pertuan Besar Negeri Sembilan's Birthday Negeri Sembilan
Jan 20 Sunday Sultan of Kedah's Birthday Kedah
Jan 21 Monday Thaipusam Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Penang & Selangor
Feb 1 Friday Federal Territory Day Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan & Putrajaya
Feb 5 Tuesday Chinese New Year National
Feb 6 Wednesday Chinese New Year (2nd Day) National
Mar 4 Monday Anniversary of Installation of Sultan of Terengganu Terengganu
Mar 23 Saturday Sultan of Johor's Birthday Johor
Apr 3 Wednesday Israk & Mikraj Kedah, Negeri Sembilan & Perlis
Apr 15 Monday Declaration of Malacca as a Historical City Malacca
Apr 19 Friday Easter - Good Friday Sabah & Sarawak
Apr 26 Friday Sultan of Terengganu's Birthday Terengganu
May 1 Wednesday Labour Day National. International Workers Day
May 6* Monday Awal Ramadan Johor, Kedah & Melaka
May 7 Tuesday Hari Hol Almarhum of Pahang Pahang
May 12 Sunday Mother's Day 2nd Sunday of May. Not a public holiday
May 17 Friday Raja Perlis' Birthday Perlis. Always celebrated on 17 May
May 19 Sunday Vesak Day (Wesak Day) National. Birth of Buddha. Observed on the day of the full moon in May
May 22 Wednesday Nuzul Al-Quran Kelantan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Selangor, Terengganu and Federal Territories (Kuala Lumpur , Putrajaya and Labuan)
May 30 Thursday Harvest Festival Sabah and Labuan
May 31 Friday Harvest Festival (2nd Day) Sabah and Labuan
Jun 1 Saturday Hari Gawai Sarawak
Jun 2 Sunday Hari Gawai (2nd Day) Sarawak
Jun 5* Wednesday Hari Raya Puasa National. Eid Al-Fitr1
Jun 6* Thursday Hari Raya Puasa (2nd Day) National. Second day of holiday for Eid Al-Fitr
Jun 16 Sunday Father's Day 3rd Sunday of June. Not a public holiday
Jul 7 Sunday Georgetown World Heritage City Day Penang
Jul 13 Saturday Penang Governor's Birthday Penang
Jul 22 Monday Sarawak Day Sarawak. Sarawak Independence Day
Aug 11* Sunday Hari Raya Haji National. Festival of Sacrifice
Aug 12* Monday Hari Raya Haji (2nd Day) Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Terengganu
Aug 31 Saturday National Day / Merdeka Day National. Malaysia 62th National Independence Day
Sep 01 Sunday Awal Muharram (Maal Hijrah) National. Islamic New Year
Sep 09 Monday Yang Dipertuan Agong's Birthday National
Sep 16 Monday Malaysia Day National
Oct 5 Saturday Hari Hol Almarhum Sultan Iskandar Johor
Oct 5 Saturday Sabah Governor's Birthday Sabah
Oct 11 Friday Malacca Governors Birthday Malacca
Oct 12 Saturday Sarawak Governor's Birthday Sarawak
Oct 24 Thursday Birthday of the Sultan of Pahang Pahang. Always celebrated on 24 October
Oct 27* Sunday Deepavali National except Sarawak. The festival of lights
Nov 1 Friday Sultan of Perak's Birthday Perak. 1st Friday in November
Nov 9 Saturday Prophet Muhammad's Birthday (Maulidur Rasul) National
Nov 11 Monday Sultan of Kelantan's Birthday Kelantan. Always celebrated on 11 November
Nov 12 Tuesday Sultan of Kelantan's Birthday (2nd Day) Kelantan. Always celebrated on 12 November
Dec 11 Wednesday Sultan of Selangor's Birthday Selangor. Always celebrated on 11 December
Dec 25 Wednesday Christmas Day National


* Subject to change

Visit kabinet.gov.my for the original release.

 

 

 

 

13 Long Weekend Holidays in Malaysia for 2019

Excluding state holidays, take 9 days leave and enjoy 13 long weekends in 2019. This sums up a total of 49 days holidays.
 

 
Weekends Public Holiday Take Leave
 
JAN New Year's Day (4 Days)
SAT
29
SUN
30
MON
31
TUE
1
JAN Thaipusam (3 Days)
SAT
19
SUN
20
MON
21
FEB Federal Territory Day WD  (3 Days)
FRI
1
SAT
2
SUN
3
FEB Chinese New Year (4 Days)
SUN
3
MON
4
TUE
5
WED
6
MAY Labour Day (5 Days)
WED
1
THU
2
FRI
3
SAT
4
SUN
5
MAY Vesak Day (3 Days)
SAT
18
SUN
19
MON
20
MAY Nuzul Quran (5 Days)
WED
22
THU
23
FRI
24
SAT
25
SUN
26
JUN Hari Raya Puasa (5 Days)
WED
5
THU
6
FRI
7
SAT
8
SUN
9
AUG Hari Raya Haji (3 Days)
SAT
10
SUN
11
MON (R)
12
AUG National Day & Awal Muharram (3 Days)
SAT
31
SUN
1
MON (R)
2
SEP Yang Dipertuan Agong's Birthday (3 Days)
SAT
7
SUN
8
MON
9
SEP Malaysia Day (3 Days)
SAT
14
SUN
15
MON
16
DEC Christmas Day (5 Days)
WED
25
THU
26
FRI
27
SAT
28
SUN
29


WD
Wilayah Day (Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan & Putrajaya only)
 
(R) Replacement (If a public holiday falls on a Sunday, then a replacement is given the next day, on Monday)

 

 


 

Malaysia School Holidays for 2019

Complete list of Malaysia Primary and Secondary School Holidays for Year 2019.
 
 

Malaysia School Holidays and Term Dates 2019

Kumpulan A
Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Terengganu

TERM 1
School Days (12 Weeks) 01.01.2019 (Tue) 21.03.2019 (Fri) 58 Days
Term 1 Holidays (1 Week) 22.03.2019 (Fri) 30.03.2019 (Sat) 9 Days
School Days (8 Weeks) 31.03.2019 (Sun) 23.05.2019 (Thu) 40 Days
Mid-Year Holidays (2 Weeks) 24.05.2019 (Fri) 08.06.2019 (Sat) 16 Days
TERM 2
School Days (9 Weeks) 09.06.2019 (Sun) 08.08.2019 (Thu) 45 Days
Term 2 Holidays (1 Week) 09.08.2019 (Fri) 17.08.2019 (Sat) 9 Days
School Days (14 Weeks) 18.08.2019 (Sun) 21.11.2019 (Thu) 70 Days
Year-End Holidays (5 Weeks) 22.11.2019 (Fri) 31.12.2019 (Tue) 40 Days

Malaysia School Holidays and Term Dates 2019

Kumpulan B
Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perlis, Penang, Perak, Putrajaya, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor

TERM 1
School Days (12 Weeks) 02.01.2019 (Wed) 31.01.2019 (Thu) 59 Days
Term 1 Holidays (1 Week) 23.03.2019 (Sat) 31.03.2019 (Sun) 9 Days
School Days (8 Weeks) 01.04.2019 (Mon) 24.05.2019 (Fri) 40 Days
Mid-Year Holidays (2 Weeks) 25.05.2019 (Sat) 09.06.2019 (Sun) 16 Days
TERM 2
School Days (9 Weeks) 10.06.2019 (Mon) 09.08.2019 (Fri) 45 Days
Term 2 Holidays (1 Week) 10.08.2019 (Sat) 18.08.2019 (Sun) 9 Days
School Days (14 Weeks) 19.08.2019 (Thu) 22.11.2019 (Fri) 70 Days
Year-End Holidays (5 Weeks) 23.11.2019 (Sat) 31.12.2019 (Tue) 39 Days
 
 
Visit moe.gov.my for the original release.

 

 
 
 
 
 
Disclaimer: We assume no liability for the correctness and completeness of the holiday information. All our information is given with the best intention and to the best of our knowledge.