Malaysia Public Holidays 2017

Discover the complete list of national and state levels public holidays of Malaysia in 2017. There are 14 national public holidays and 12 long weekends in Malaysia during 2017. Planning a family vacation? Overview of Malaysia School Days & Holidays 2017 here.
 

 

National Holiday State Holiday Not A Public Holiday
 
Date Day Holiday Comment
Jan 1 Sunday New Year's Day All except Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Terengganu
Jan 14 Saturday Yang di-Pertuan Besar Negeri Sembilan's Birthday Negeri Sembilan only
Jan 15 Sunday Sultan of Kedah's Birthday Kedah only
Jan 28 Saturday Chinese New Year National holiday
Jan 29 Sunday Chinese New Year (2nd Day) National holiday
Jan 30 Monday Chinese New Year (observed) National holiday. Except Johor, Kedah, Kelantan & Terengganu
Feb 1 Wednesday Federal Territory Day Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan & Putrajaya only
Feb 9 Thursday Thaipusam Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Johor, Kedah, Negeri Sembilan, Perak, Penang & Selangor only
Mar 4 Saturday Anniversary of Installation of Sultan of Terengganu Terengganu only
Mar 23 Thursday Sultan of Johor's Birthday Johor only
Apr 14 Friday Easter - Good Friday Sabah & Sarawak only
Apr 15 Saturday Declaration of Malacca as a Historical City Malacca only
Apr 24 Monday Isra and Miraj Kedah, Perlis and Negeri Sembilan only
Apr 26 Wednesday Sultan of Terengganu's Birthday Terengganu only
May 1 Monday Labour Day National holiday. International Workers Day
May 7 Sunday Hari Hol Almarhum of Pahang Pahang only. In remembrance with the death of the state Sultan
May 10 Wednesday Vesak Day (Wesak Day) National holiday. Birth of Buddha. Observed on the day of the full moon in May
May 14 Sunday Mother's Day Not a public holiday. 2nd Sunday in May
May 17 Wednesday Raja Perlis' Birthday Perlis only. Always celebrated on 17 May
May 27 Saturday Awal Ramadan* Johor, Kedah and Johor, Kedah, Malacca only
May 30 Tuesday Harvest Festival Sabah and Labuan only
May 31 Wednesday Harvest Festival Sabah and Labuan only
Jun 1 Thursday Hari Gawai Sarawak only
Jun 2 Friday Hari Gawai Sarawak only
Jun 3 Saturday Birthday of SPB Yang di Pertuan Agong National holiday. Kings Birthday. 1st Saturday in June
Jun 12 Monday Nuzul Quran Kelantan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Penang, Selangor ,Terengganu and Federal Territories (Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya and Labuan) only
Jun 25 Sunday Hari Raya Puasa* National holiday. Eid Al-Fitr1
Jun 26 Monday Hari Raya Puasa (2nd Day)* National holiday. Second day of holiday for Eid Al-Fitr
Jul 7 Friday Georgetown World Heritage City Day Penang only
Jul 8 Saturday Penang Governor's Birthday Penang only
Jul 22 Saturday Sarawak Day Sarawak only
Aug 31 Thursday National Day / Merdeka Day National holiday. Malaysia 60th National Independence Day
Sep 1 Friday Hari Raya Haji* National holiday. Festival of Sacrifice
Sep 2 Saturday Hari Raya Haji (2nd Day)* Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis & Terengganu only
Sep 9 Saturday Sarawak Governor's Birthday Sarawak only. 2nd Saturday in September
Sep 16 Saturday Malaysia Day National holiday. Became a Federal Holiday in 2010
Sep 21 Thursday Awal Muharram (Maal Hijrah) National holiday. Islamic New Year
Oct 7 Saturday Sabah Governor's Birthday Sabah only. 1st Saturday in October
Oct 13 Friday Malacca Governors Birthday Malacca only. 1st Friday in October
Oct 18 Wednesday Deepavali* National holiday except Sarawak. The festival of lights
Oct 24 Tuesday Birthday of the Sultan of Pahang Pahang only. Always celebrated on 24 October
Oct 26 Thursday Hari Hol Almarhum Sultan Iskandar, Johor Johor only. In remembrance with the death of the state Sultan
Nov 3 Friday Sultan of Perak's Birthday Perak only. 1st Friday in November
Nov 11 Saturday Sultan of Kelantan's Birthday Kelantan only. Always celebrated on 11 November
Nov 12 Sunday Sultan of Kelantan's Birthday Kelantan only. Second day. Always celebrated on 12 November
Dec 1 Friday Prophet Muhammad's Birthday (Maulidur Rasul) National holiday
Dec 11 Monday Sultan of Selangor's Birthday Selangor only. Always celebrated on 11 December
Dec 25 Monday Christmas Day National holiday


* Subject to change

Visit kabinet.gov.my for the original release.

 

 

 

 

12 Long Weekend Holidays in Malaysia for 2017

Excluding state holidays, take 3 days leave and enjoy 12 long weekends in 2017.
 

 

Public Holiday Take Leave
 

JAN New Year's Day
SAT
31
SUN
1
MON
2
JAN Chinese New Year
SAT
28
SUN
29
MON
30
TUE
31
WED
1WD
FEB Thaipusam
FRI
10
SAT
11
SUN
12
MAY Labour Day
SAT
29
SUN
30
MON
1
JUN Nuzul Quran
SAT
10
SUN
11
MON
12
JUN Hari Raya Puasa*
SAT
24
SUN
25
MON
26
TUE
27
AUG National Day
THU
31
FRI
1
SAT
2
SUN
3
SEP Hari Raya Haji*
FRI
1
SAT
2
SUN
3
SEP Awal Muharram
FRI
22
SAT
23
SUN
24
OCT Deepavali*
THU
19
FRI
20
SAT
21
SUN
22
DEC Prophet Muhammad's Birthday
FRI
1
SAT
2
SUN
3
DEC Christmas Day
SAT
23
SUN
24
MON
25

* Subject to change

WD
Wilayah Day (Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur, Labuan & Putrajaya only)

 

 


 

Malaysia School Holidays for 2017

Complete list of Malaysia Primary and Secondary School Holidays for Year 2017.
 
 

Malaysia School Holidays and Term Dates 2017

Kumpulan A
Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Terengganu

TERM 1
School Days (11 Weeks) 01.01.2017 (Sun) 16.03.2017 (Thu) 55 Days
Term 1 Holidays (1 Week) 17.03.2017 (Fri) 25.03.2017 (Thu) 9 Days
School Days (9 Weeks) 26.03.2017 (Fri  25.05.2017 (Thu) 45 Days
Mid-Year Holidays (2 Weeks) 26.05.2017 (Fri) 10.06.2017 (Thu) 16 Days
TERM 2
School Days (11 Weeks) 11.06.2017 (Sun) 24.08.2017 (Thu) 55 Days
Term 2 Holidays (1 Week) 25.08.2017 (Sun) 02.09.2017 (Thu) 9 Days
School Days (12 Weeks) 03.09.2017 (Sun)  23.11.2017 (Thu) 50 Days
Year-End Holidays (5 Weeks) 24.11.2017 (Sun) 31.12.2017 (Thu) 38 Days

Malaysia School Holidays and Term Dates 2017

Kumpulan B
Kuala Lumpur, Labuan, Melaka, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perlis, Penang, Perak, Putrajaya, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor

TERM 1
School Days (11 Weeks) 03.01.2017 (Tue) 17.03.2017 (Thu) 54 Days
Term 1 Holidays (1 Week) 18.03.2017 (Sat) 26.03.2017 (Sun) 9 Days
School Days (9 Weeks) 27.03.2017 (Mon) 26.05.2017 (Sun) 45 Days
Mid-Year Holidays (2 Weeks) 27.05.2017 (Sat) 11.06.2017 (Sun) 16 Days
TERM 2
School Days (11 Weeks) 12.06.2017 (Mon) 25.08.2017 (Fri) 55 Days
Term 2 Holidays (1 Week) 26.08.2017 (Sat)  25.08.2017 (Fri) 9 Days
School Days (12 Weeks) 04.09.2017 (Mon) 24.11.2017 (Fri) 50 Days
Year-End Holidays (5 Weeks) 25.11.2017 (Sat) 01.01.2018 (Mon) 38 Days
 
 
Visit moe.gov.my for the original release for 2017.

 

 
 
 
 
 
Disclaimer: We assume no liability for the correctness and completeness of the holiday information. All our information is given with the best intention and to the best of our knowledge.